Members of the Tribunal

The Real Estate Agents Disciplinary Tribunal is made up of a chairperson and up to 5 other members appointed by the Minister of Justice.

The chairperson must be a barrister or solicitor with at least 7 years’ legal experience. One member must be a licensed real estate agent. One of the members is also designated by the Minister as the deputy chairperson of the Tribunal.

The Honourable PJ Andrews CNZM (Chairperson)

Ms Andrews was a litigation partner, then consultant, at Kensington Swan in Wellington until June 2006, during which time she was also a member of the Refugee Status Appeal Authority (now the Immigration & Protection Tribunal) for a period of three years. Ms Andrews was appointed as a Judge of the High Court at Auckland in June 2006, and served until her retirement in September 2015. During her time in legal practice Ms Andrews was a member of the Committee of the Wellington District Law Society, and Treasurer then Vice-President of the Society.

Ms Andrews was a made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in January 2016.

Kate Davenport QC (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Davenport is a barrister in practice in Auckland. She specialises in civil and commercial litigation. She has an LLB (Hons), M.Jur (Distinction) and a postgraduate Certificate in Health Science (Ethics). She was admitted to the Bar in 1983. Ms Davenport is also the Deputy Chairperson of the Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal and Chairperson of ECART (Ethics Committee for Assisted Reproductive Techniques). She is former Vice-President of the New Zealand Law Society and is on the Council of the New Zealand Bar Association.

Garry Denley, JP, FREINZ

Mr Denley is currently the Body Corporate Manager and Auctioneer for Lochores Real Estate Ltd on Auckland’s North Shore. He was made a Fellow of the REINZ in 1989 and in 1991 was appointed the REINZ’s Executive Officer for membership services, responsible for licensing, rules and membership services. He was an elected National Councillor from 1997 to 2007, chairing the Technology, Rules, Education and Agreements sub-committees. He was also the REINZ representative on the Auckland District Law Society Forms sub-committee dealing with joint property agreements. Mr Denley is also a practising arbitrator and mediator.

John Gaukrodger, Dip Bus FCA retired 

Mr Gaukrodger gained experience and knowledge of disciplinary processes as a member of the NZ Institute of Chartered Accountants Practice Review Team from 2002 to 2008. In that role he was required to report and provide evidence to the Institute's Professional Conduct Committee and Disciplinary Tribunal. He has previously acted as a chartered accountant for a number of real estate firms. He is currently board Chairperson of 2 Hamilton-based companies. 

Nola Dangen, LLB

Ms Dangen has extensive experience in property, commercial, trusts and estates, and family law. She is currently an elected council member of the Auckland District Law Society, was awarded Distinguished Member in 2003, and has served 2 terms as council Vice President. She has convened law society complaints, audit, and other committees overseeing regulation of the legal profession.

Having spent several years as Drafter and Convenor of the Society's Drafts and Precedents Committee as well as the Forms Committee, Ms Dangen was responsible for drafting the Agreement for sale and purchase of real estate. She is currently a member of the National Ethics Advisory Committee (Ministry of Health).

Catherine Sandelin, LLB

Ms Sandelin graduated from Auckland University in 1987 with an LLB. She joined Rudd Watts and Stone as a solicitor before becoming a senior associate at Simpson Grierson. After tutoring the Auckland District Law Society's Legal Professionals training course, she practised as a Barrister sole specialising in commercial and property related disputes. Ms Sandelin has been involved in property construction project management, and is also a Director of a clothing design, manufacturing and import company.