Three strikes statistics

The Sentencing and Parole Reform Act 2010 creates a three stage system of increasing consequences for repeat serious violent offenders.

There are 40 qualifying offences comprising all major violent and sexual offences with a maximum penalty of seven years or greater imprisonment, including murder, attempted murder, manslaughter, wounding with intent to cause grievous bodily harm, sexual violation, abduction, kidnapping, and aggravated robbery.

The full list can be found in section 86A of the Sentencing Act 2002.

Sentencing Act 2002(external link)

A first warning is issued when an offender aged 18 or over at the time of a qualifying offence, and who does not have any previous warnings, is convicted of that offence. Once an offender has received a first ‘strike’ warning, it stays on their record for good unless their conviction is overturned.

If that offender is subsequently convicted of another qualifying offence they receive a final warning and, if sentenced to imprisonment, will serve that sentence in full without the possibility of parole. The first and final warnings will stay on the offender’s record.

On conviction of a third qualifying offence the court must impose the maximum penalty for the offence. The court must also order that the sentence be served without parole, unless the court considers that would be manifestly unjust.

Number of first and final warnings by court

2018 warnings [XLSX, 38 KB]

2017 warnings [XLS, 60 KB]

2016 warnings [XLS, 58 KB]

2014/15 warnings [PDF, 281 KB]

2012/13 warnings [PDF, 265 KB]

2010/11 warnings [PDF, 220 KB]

From the start of 2018, these figures will be updated quarterly: in April for the quarter ending March, in July for the quarter ending June, in October for the quarter ending September, in January for the quarter ending December.

Back to top

This page was last updated: