2.1 Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is New Zealand's final court of appeal and, as such, the Supreme Court has the role of maintaining overall coherence in the legal system.

Located in Wellington, the Supreme Court has up to six judges, including the Chief Justice. The Supreme Court replaced the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London as New Zealand's final court of appeal on 1 July 2004.

The Supreme Court resolves legal matters, including those relating to the Treaty of Waitangi, to be resolved with an understanding of New Zealand conditions, history and traditions.

The court considers applications for leave to appeal from the Court of Appeal and, in special circumstances, directly from the High Court. No case can proceed to the Supreme Court without the leave of that court.

This page was last updated: